Tournament History!

The Humewood Links course is ranked 13th of South Africa's top golf courses and has hosted a number of major South African tournaments.

The Humewood course was opened for play in October 1931 and hosted both the SA Amateur and SA Open in 1934.

Humewood Golf Club went on to host the SA Amateur 10 times, the last being in 2017.

The SA Open Championship

Humewood hosted the SA Open 5 times, the last being at the end of 2006 when it was won with a score of 24 under par by Ernie Els.

Other Legends who won the SA Open at the Humewood Links include:-

Bobby Locke - 9 SA Open Titles and 7 SA PGA Championships

Bobby Locke won 9 SA Open titles and 7 SA PGA Championships. At the age of 22, he won the 5th of his SA Open titles at Humewood in 1940, by a runaway 10-shot margin.

SA Open - 1934 and 1952 Sid Brews

Sid Brews winner of eight South African Open titles, won two of these titles at Humewood in 1934 and 1952. At the age of 53 yrs, he was the oldest SA Open Champion in 1952.

SA Open - 1957 - Harold Henning

Harold Henning, winner of two official PGA Tour events – the 1966 Texas Open Invitational and the 1970 Tallahassee Open Invitational, won his SA Open title at Humewood in 1957.

Goodyear Classic

The Humewood Golf Club hosted the Goodyear Classic tournament from 1984-1992.

Champions include Ernie Els, John Bland, Denis Watson, Tony Johnstone and Fulton Allem. Their winning scores are on record as some of the highest on the Tour.